About Our Boards & Councils

Stakeholder engagement, oversight, and transparency are central values of our Division and achieved through a variety of Boards and Councils that include the Sandoval County Health Council, the DWI Task Force, the DWI Planning Council, the Juvenile Justice Advisory Board, the Senior Services Advisory Council, and the Pena Blanca Community Center Board.

Sandoval County Health Council

The 15-person Sandoval County Health Council (SCHC) represents a cross section of the county’s population. The membership includes representatives local health providers, tribal entities, public schools and agencies that offer services to low-income citizens, among others.

Health council members are appointed by the Sandoval County Commission. Members are appointed to staggered terms of up to two years, and no member may serve more than eight years. The full council meets four times a year. and planning committees meet six times a year. All members serve as volunteers with no compensation, per diem or expenses paid to any council member.

Learn More About the Sandoval County Health Council
Juvenile Justice Advisory Board

The Sandoval County Juvenile Justice Advisory Board is a 15-member board of concerned citizens from many walks of life who are focused on reaching at-risk youth throughout the county before their actions lead to arrest or detention. Board membership includes representatives from the Sandoval County Commission, Sandoval County Children’s Court, the District Attorney’s Office, the Public Defender’s Office, local Law Enforcement, local Juvenile Probation Office, Public Schools, and community based non-profit organizations serving youth and families.

Board members are appointed by the Sandoval County Commission. Members are appointed to two-year terms and no member shall serve more than eight years. The Board meets six times a year every other month with subcommittees meeting six times a year on off months.

DWI Planning Council

The Sandoval County DWI Planning Council plays a critical role in developing and monitoring the Sandoval County DWI & Prevention Program. It is comprised of local agencies and individuals committed to the reduction of DWI. The agencies involved in the DWI Planning Council have identified needs, reviewed plans, and developed new program concepts. In addition to the members of the DWI Planning Council, input is sought from other community members, including local business owners, members of Ministerial Alliances, school administrators and teachers, public health workers, medical providers, and concerned citizens. All input is considered by the Planning Council in determining priorities and activities.

The DWI Planning Council meets every other month and the meeting is advertised in local print media, inviting members of the public to attend. Additionally, planning Council members solicit input from service providers, citizens, and other interested groups and individuals between meetings.

Meetings are held every other month at the Sandoval County Administration Building, 1500 Idalia Road Bid D, Bernalillo, NM 87004 from 3 to 4 p.m.

If you have questions on meeting dates please contact: Diane Irwin, Executive Administrator at dirwin@sandovalcountynm.gov or (505) 867-8165

DWI Task Force

The Sandoval County DWI Task Force is made up of law enforcement representatives from Sandoval County Sheriff s Office, Rio Rancho Police Department, Cuba Police Department, Corrales Police Department, Jemez Pueblo Police Department, Bernalillo Police Department, New Mexico State Police, Santa Ana Pueblo Police Department, Jemez Springs Police Department and Sandoval County Detention Center. This meeting is for Law Enforcement Agencies only.

The Task Force meets every other month to plan Law Enforcement Operations throughout Sandoval County which include Checkpoints, Warrant Roundups, Saturation Patrols, Party Patrols, Shoulder Tap Operations and Compliance Checks.

Meetings are held every other month in the Sandoval County Administration Building, 1500 Idalia Road Bid D, Bernalillo, NM 87004, from 2 to 3 p.m.