Sandoval County Receives FY2022 Large County Audit and Accountability Award from the New Mexico Counties and State Auditor’s Office

Accepting the FY2022 Large County Audit and Accountability Award is Sandoval County Commissioner Katherine A. Bruch, District 1, front. She is joined by (back left) other Sandoval County representatives: Wayne Johnson, County Manager; Michael Eshleman, County Attorney; Treasurer Jennifer A. Taylor; Clerk Ann Brady-Romero; County Commission Vice Chair Michael Meek, District 3; and Jayme Espinoza, Director of Community Services; and New Mexico State Auditor Joseph Maestas.

This is the third consecutive annual award earned by Sandoval County

Bernalillo, NM, January 18, 2024—Sandoval County announced today that it received the Audit and Accountability Large County Award from the New Mexico Counties and State Auditor’s Office for Fiscal Year 2022. This award recognizes the County’s outstanding work on its audit, submitting a timely audit, and sustaining excellence with the highest audit opinions. According to New Mexico’s Counties and State Auditor’s Office, a good audit reflects a county’s strong finance department, elected officials, and management. This is Sandoval County’s third audit award with an unmodified opinion and financial management excellence.

Wayne Johnson, County Manager, said, “This recognition from the state for the third consecutive year demonstrates the continuous achievement of the County to perform its fiscal responsibilities at the highest level for the benefit of our residents. As the fastest-growing county in New Mexico, our assets and operations change constantly, and through our expertise and experience, these changes are managed successfully. We are proud of this accomplishment as we serve the people of Sandoval County.”

State Auditor Joseph Maestas presented the Accountability Awards today during the closing session lunch of the 2024 New Mexico Counties Legislative Conference. Ten counties were selected by New Mexico Counties and the State Auditor’s Office for this award.